Tag: tasty recordings

Funky House Finesse 48

It’s another month with another celebration of beautiful house on the horizon – the Southport Weekender in the UK. Always a hive of excitement with an eclectic range of soulful, funky and disco house to entertain the weekend campers. With that in mind, the first part of the show is dedicated to the endless parties up in Minehead from 11-13th May.

We kick start the show with an elegant reprise of the Boris Dlugosch & Roisin Murphy classic “Never Enough” which takes us into a number of soulful beauties followed by a jackin’ disco-fuelled session, wrapped up with some twisted bootlegs and Chocolate Puma’s amazing remix of Ben Westbeech’s “Same Thing”.

Make sure you send us your feedback – your favourite tracks, any questionable inclusions, whatever – we love to hear back from you. Even a simple Facebook “like” will suffice.


Funky House Finesse 48 – 128kps (114mb)


  1. Boris Dlugosch ft Roisin Murphy – Never Enough (Fusion Groove Orchestra Jazz-a-pella) [Peppermint Jam]
  2. Los Charly’s Orchestra – Feeling High (Juan Laya & Jorge Montiel Re-Edit) [Imagenes]
  3. Jamie Lewis & Marc Evans – Without You (Jamie Lewis Mastermix) [Purple Music]
  4. Luyo & DJ Ermi – My King (M&s Sure Shot Vox) [Double Cheese Records]
  5. Inaya Day – My Love (Sieges Oldskool Edit) [Caballero Records]
  6. Andrea Carissimi ft LT Brown – Why (Steven Stone Remix) [Just4Funk Records]
  7. Marshall Jefferson ft Curtis McClain – Move Your Body (Maurice Joshua Remix) [Ultra Records]
  8. Cool Million ft Kenny Thomas – Without Your Love (Dave Doyle Remix) [Sedsoul]
  9. DJD – Ain’t Too High (Shane D Vocal Club Mix) [TriCircle Recordings]
  10. Mike Newman & Antoine Cortez – Come With You (Original Mix) [Hed Kandi]
  11. John Julius Knight – Save (Original Mix) [Blacklist]
  12. Wayne Williams – You The Feeling (Vocal Mix) [Nu Soul]
  13. Sonny Fodera – Want You to Know (Original) [Guesthouse]
  14. DJ Zimmo – Nine 2 Five (Original Mix) [Promo]
  15. Audio Jacker – You Got Yours (Original Mix) [Tasty Recordings]
  16. Paul Whitehead – My Day (Original Mix) [Disco Bomb]
  17. Dez Milito – Heaven (Dez Disco Heaven Mix) [Fektive Records]
  18. Carl Creme – My Lovin’ (Carl Hanaghan Original Mix) [Discopolis]
  19. Sousa & Mad ft Kaysee – Temptation (Mr. Vasovski Remix) [HouseLife Recordings]
  20. Lucardo Parena – Gonna Move (Block & Crown Pacha Mix) [Fektive Records]
  21. Erik Bo – Champagne (Original Mix) [Control Recordings]
  22. Julie McKnight – Home (Frater, Stent & Whitehead’s ‘GO’ Mix) [Bootleg]
  23. Barbara Tucker – I Get Lifted (John Gold Bootleg) [Bootleg]
  24. Ben Westbeech – Same Thing (Chocolate Puma Mix) [Strictly Rhythm]

Weekly Finesse No 6

Another week, another healthy dose of my favourite house tracks doing the rounds – some exclusive early picks, some well established. Enjoy!

Barbara Tucker, Andrea Paci & The Winning Triplet – We Wanna Boogie (Simone Cattaneo & Alex Gardini ReEdit) [Ocean Trax]

Our Babs is back with another astonishing vocal hit having teamed up with Andrea Paci and The Winning Triplet. Great soulful uplifting track to start this week’s selection. Expect big things!

Freemasons – Love On My Mind (Carl Crème & Reza Remix) [Hed Kandi]

The original version of Freemason‘s debut track has clearly been established as a milestone track in the house music scene, regularly raising the roof whenever it’s dropped. For the recently released Hed Kandi Classics compilation, Carl Créme and Reza were commissioned to put their special touch to it and, I have to say, it’s a belter. Expect it in the next Funky House Finesse show.

Funkstar – Turn The Beat (Original Mix) [Tasty Recordings]

Fantastic resampling of the classic 1976 disco track from Vicky Sue Robinson (or Gloria Estefan if you’re that way inclined), turned up to 11 for, well, 2011. Great hooks and build ups make this a perfect club track.

Ministers De La Funk – Gravy (Original Mix) [Subliminal Records]

The behemoths that are Erick Morrillo, Harry “Choo Choo” Romero and Joze Nunez  return to create a massive new house track in the (strangely) named “Gravy“. As you’d expect, the impeccable production and vocals of the delectable Shawnee Taylor make this a club banger. Love it!

Weekly Finesse No 4

Here’s the 4th edition of the Weekly Finesse, compiled by your host One Phat DJ, featuring Roberto De Carlo, Audio Jackerz, Dave Doyle and a classic Z Record track.

Roberto De Carlo ft Joshua – One (Classic Mix) [GoGo Music]

This is what soulful house is all about. That infectious bass-line combined with quality production and great vocals make this a firm favourite from GoGo Music.

Bluey Robinson – Showgirl (Dave Doyle Remix)

I’m not normally one for commercial remixes but Dave Doyle has a real knack for adding some handbang house fun to everything he touches (remember his remix of Beverley Knight’s “Moma Used To Say” in Finesse 39?). Just try not to move your ass to this remix of Bluey Robinson.

Audio Jacker & How2 Groove – Fashionista (Original Mix) [Tasty Recordings]


Talk about a disco reprise? Audio Jacker and How2 Groove have come up trumps on this fun-tastic jackin’ remix of the disco sample. Great vibes as part of an excellent 3-track “Dance Dance Dance” EP from the guys.

Raw Essence – Do You Love What You Feel (Cleptomaniacs Remix) [Z Records]

This classic disco house track from 2000 has been dug out of the Z Records archives and re-released in digital format. Excellent hooks and uplifting vocals have made this one of my favourites for the week, if not the month. Also available on Beatport.